Home » Cathrynn Brown » Thirty One States Allow Rapists to Sue for Custody and Visitation Rights: Who Wants to Start a We The People Petition with Me to Stop This?

Thirty One States Allow Rapists to Sue for Custody and Visitation Rights: Who Wants to Start a We The People Petition with Me to Stop This?

Laws About Rape Pregnancy by State

New Mexico state representative Cathrynn Brown’s recent bill that attempted to criminalize abortion after rape would have made life even harder than it already it is for pregnant rape victims. Although that bill won’t pass, there are still thirty one states that allow a rapist to sue for custody and visitation rights. This needs to end. Rapists should be stripped of any parental rights. No rape victim should be forced to ever remain in contact with their attacker, let alone be forced to let their attacker help raise their child.

This issue first gained national attention last October when Shauna Prewitt talked about how her rapist sued for custody of their child.

Does anyone want to start a We the People petition with me to stop rapists from being able to sue for custody or visitation rights of a child concieved through their rape? “If we can get it to reach 100,000 signatures fast enough, then the White House will formerly respond to it.


6 Comments

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this
    website before but after checking through some of the post I
    realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back often!

    • Laura says:

      Thanks! I appreciate that. I hope you like future blog entries. Feel free to contact me if there is any issue you would specifically like me to cover.

  2. Shared this and tried to encourage others to get active with their State and Federal lawmakers about this. This is an obscenity! I was stunned to find this out only yesterday. To know that this has gone on for decades, even centuries in this country! Embarrassing and disturbing. Thanks for helping spread the awareness!

  3. Charlie F says:

    Make the petition. I will share it amongst the Stand With Texas Women groups.

  4. Right here is the right webpage for anybody who hopes to understand this topic.

    You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has been written about for
    ages. Excellent stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

